Congratulations to Rogers M. Brown, II, a Year 3 SABER Scholar who is co-first author on a paper just published in Frontiers in Systems Neuroscience!

Welcome to Bianca Romo
who will join the program as a Year 1 SABER Scholar on 01 August 2023! Bianca just completed her graduate studies at Dartmouth College, Hanover, NH and will be starting  postdoctoral training in the lab of Dr. Alex Bishop (Greehey Childrens Cancer Research Institute and Cell Systems & Anatomy).

Congratulations to Ben Enslow who has been offered, and has accepted a faculty position as an assistant professor of biological sciences (tenure track) at St. Mary’s University, starting this fall! Ben, who is in Year 3 SABER•IRACDA Scholar, will be completing training on June 30th.

Congratulations to Carlos Rivera, a Year 3 SABER•IRACDA Scholar whose first author paper was recently published in Science Advances!

Welcome to Nikki Clauss who has just joined the program as a Year 0 SABER•IRACDA Scholar! Nikki is a postdoctoral research fellow in the lab of Dr. Lynette Daws (Cellular & Integrative Physiology).

Ben Enslow, MD, 1st place, Oral Presentation, UT Health San Antonio at the 10th Annual San Antonio Postdoctoral Research Forum (9/20/2022 San Antonio, TX)

Manpreet Semwal, PhD (SABER*IRACDA Associate Scholar), 1st place, Poster Presentation, UT Health San Antonio at the 10th Annual San Antonio Postdoctoral Research Forum (9/20/2022, San Antonio, TX)


Congratulations to two SABER alumnae, Drs. Rheaclare Fraser-Spears (2015 cohort) and Dr. Briana Salas (2016 cohort), both of whom were recently promoted to Associate Professor (with tenure) at the University of the Incarnate Word and Our lady of the lake respectively!

Congratulations to Dr. Ahmad Galaleldeen, Program Coordinator at St. Mary’s University for the SABER*IRACDA Program who was recently promoted to full Professor!

Congratulations to Mike de la Flor, a SABER•IRACDA alumnus who has received a Veterans Affairs (VA) award (3I01 BX003195-05A1S1) that will fund an additional two years of postdoctoral training in the O’Connor lab (department of Pharmacology) at UT Health San Antonio. This award is a Supplement to Dr. Jason O’Connor’s VA Merit Award.

Congratulations to Sevan Alwan, a SABER•IRACDA alumna who has been appointed to the faculty in the department of Biochemistry & Structural Biology at UT Health San Antonio as an Instructor/Research and whose first author article was recently published in PLoS Pathogens!



Charles S. Fermaintt, PhD, Assistant Professor at the University of the Incarnate Word. Educator conducting research in the field of cancer pharmacology (San Antonio, TX)

Amanda Muñoz, PhD, Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology, Department of Biology and Chemistry, Texas A&M International University (Laredo, TX)

Jeremy Stubblefield, PhD, Assistant Professor of Biology, Benedictine College (Atchison, KS)

Keith Ashcraft, PhD, Assistant Professor of Biology, Shriner University (Kerrville, TX)

Lindsey (Myers) Barron, PhD, Visiting Assistant Professor of Biology, University of the Incarnate Word (San Antonio, TX)